top of page

Employee Feature: Grant Williams


We would like you to meet our employee, Grant Williams. Grant is the BAS Technician in our Tulsa branch, and Grant has worked for ES2 for one year.


Are you originally from Oklahoma?


I was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. When I was five years old, we moved to San Diego, California, to be closer to my mom's side of the family and to follow my dad's job. But that didn't last too long. After a couple of years in San Diego, we then moved to Fayetteville, Arkansas, for another year or two, before ending up back in Tulsa and then to Broken Arrow, where I spent the remainder of my youth from 4th grade through graduation from Broken Arrow High School.


Tell me what your experience working with ES2 has been like?


The last year working with ES2 has been an absolute pleasure. The team of individuals that I get to work with on a day-to-day basis never ceases to impress me with their knowledge in this field. I really appreciate the opportunity that I have been given to work with this team.


What certifications, training, or degrees do you have?


After graduating high school, I attended Oklahoma State University for an Electrical Engineering Degree but left to pursue different career opportunities. Once my father started his controls business Integrated Control Systems, I started working for him, pulling cable & installing devices. Eventually, I started making the control and wiring diagrams on CAD, designing and building our control panels, then performing service and troubleshooting installations for our Siemens Talon Controllers. Most of my training throughout my career in Controls has been hands-on in the field. I do have my OSHA 30 certification. I've had my electrical and mechanical apprentice cards but never took the journeymans tests. Since I started with ES2, I have received the 4002 EC-Net4 Certification with Distech and just finished my certification for 6002VT DC Controllers and Applications Foundations.

Describe a typical day at work for you?


Since I was hired at ES2, I have had the unique opportunity to continue to service customers I had worked on through my previous employer. The biggest of said customers is a large national bank chain which we are lucky enough to have as an ES2 customer. Many of my days are spent remotely logged into one of their 110-plus bank branches throughout the country, assisting mechanical technicians or facilities members with the controls side of their systems. There are still many controls systems in place that I originally installed that need service work performed on a regular basis.


What is your favorite aspect of your job?


I think the problem solving aspect of this job is very satisfying for me. Also, building control panels, there is something mildly therapeutic about wiring up a control panel and then taking a step back and beholding your work. Lately, all of the programming work that I've been doing has me working outside of my normal comfort zone, but I have welcomed the challenge and look forward to the next challenge.


Do you have any hobbies outside of work?

I'm currently borderline obsessed with Disc Golf, it's been a great way to stay outside and enjoy nature, when you spend all day inside one building or another. I also love gaming, whether its board games like Settlers of Catan or Star Wars:Rebellion; Video Games like ARK or World of Warcraft; or Collectible Card Games like Magic: The Gathering; I've even spent many an hour around a table with friends playing Dungeons and Dragons. What can I say? I am a gamer, from the Womb to the Tomb.


Are you a sports fan? If so, what sports and who are your favorite teams?

Disc Golf has consumed most, if not all, of my sports-related time in the last seven years or so. I watch as much of the online coverage that is available on youtube as I can stand, it's almost always on in the background of whatever I am doing. Not everyone considers it a professional sport, but it's been growing by leaps and bounds over the last ten years; I think it's going to become a pretty big deal. I am also a fan of football. In college football, I follow Oklahoma State University "Go Pokes!" and in professional football, I'm a fan of the New York Giants.


Tell us about your family?


I have been happily married since July 4th, 2014, to my lovely wife Tami Williams; I'm not sure where I'd be without her. I have one stepdaughter named Elyse, who is about to turn 17 which is crazy to think about! We also have two dogs, Millie and Luna, and a cat named Binx.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page